Author Topic: 1st time CZ/PO7 owner observations  (Read 1854 times)

Offline dobermanUSA

1st time CZ/PO7 owner observations
« on: January 19, 2010, 11:42:25 AM »
Disclaimer: I am not a gunsmith, just a humble gun owner with a technical mind LOL

I am an engineer and have an inquisitive mind. So of course, having gotten a new (new to me) CZ PO7, I took it apart  :)  I am amazed at what is being done with polymers/plastics. Quite a feat of engineering. The engineer in me lets me marvel at the technology with no unfounded fears of plastics.  Some people just don't trust plastic guns "give me steel"..  well, I'm ok with it. I knew nothing of CZ guns or polymer guns going into this purchase. I found this forum,  have read a lot about the issues, and the praises.  My disassembly was with an eye to the 'issues'.  First and foremost, I went right to the frame bulge. Yep, right side of my frame bulges a little.  You know, I can go up and down the bottom half of the polymer gun frame and squeeze it with my fingers and move the plastic. The part that bulges, I believe, is due to the pressure of the one pretty strong little spring that sticks in there (you will be impressed herein with my technical jargon). I can push the bulge in, and it bounces back when I let go.  I've concluded, as has been stated in other threads, that it is cosmetic. The top part of the gun - the chunky hewn of mother earth metal (argh argh argh) - seems to slide on two metal rails in the bottom half of the gun - two approx 3/4" long rails is all that holds the top to the gun.  Pretty amazing. It's pretty obvious the bulging part of the frame plays no structural role insofar as high pressure loading while shooting.  Where the explosion takes place is in fact quite the brick bleep house of metal-ness. I feel very confident that this gun is not going to blow apart at "the bulge".