Author Topic: Cleaning with a Bronze brush  (Read 1306 times)

Offline GRJY

Cleaning with a Bronze brush
« on: May 12, 2019, 03:08:14 PM »
I have been shooting for over 10 years. I always clean with a bronze brush on barrels hat are not chrome lined. Chrome lined seemed to clean up easier but for pistols I always use a brush. I use Moro products. If I just wet a patch and and run a few patches I get hardly any crap out. When I use a brush it my patches will come out black.

I always read online about people saying using a bronze brush scratches barrel or accelerates wear. I have never seen it. I usually brush 5 or 6 times out the muzzle then back through to chamber and then patch it. Then usually another 5 brush strokes and patch and by that time the patches are turning light grey. I lube it and call it a day. I rinse brushes in warm and soapy water and then rinse with water and let air dry.  I have never once noticed a scratch in any of my barrels. Where did this idea that bronze brushes scratch or wear a hardened barrel? I just don?t get it.

Offline M1A4ME

• I've shot the rest, I now own the best - CZ
Re: Cleaning with a Bronze brush
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2019, 03:37:06 PM »
Never heard that myself.  I've used brushes (brass???, bronze???) for shotguns, .22's, rifles, pistols, revolvers and centerfire guns since the late 60's.

Now, I haver heard that sometimes, the crud/color you see after using a brush with solvent on it is the solvent breaking down the brush, not necessarily stuff from your barrel.

I ever dry brush sometimes.  I just run a dry brush through the barrel a few times then patch it a few times.

There there's those days when I get lead left in a pistol barrel (happens sometimes) and the patching/brushing/solvent don't work.  Then I end up with a tiny flexible dental pick doing a little scraping.  So far I've not seen a mark from that either - even with two pairs of grlasses and a nice light to check out the barrel.