Author Topic: What causes case bulge?  (Read 1157 times)

Offline redbaron

What causes case bulge?
« on: May 21, 2019, 10:44:10 AM »
I've been plugging away on my new Dillon 550 for a few months now, loading all the pistol calibers I have and some 300 blackout and I absolutely love the machine.

I took out my new Canik TP9SFX yesterday and I ran into some issues that I have never had before when I loaded on my old Lee Classic Cast Turret. Out of about 300 rounds I had loaded up, maybe 5 had bulges so bad that only around half the cartridge would chamber in the pistol. A few had some minor bulging that caused the round to sit a little proud of the barrel when I did the plunk test. So maybe 12 total rounds out of 300 had some bulging issues that affected function to some degree, but the vast majority were fine.

What's the typical cause for this kind of case bulging? And why does it only happen to a handful of rounds? More importantly....how do I fix it?

Offline Tenbones

Re: What causes case bulge?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2019, 11:31:09 AM »
Lots of questions need to be answered first because there could be several causes for this.  You mentioned that you were using the new Canik when you discovered the bulges.  Did you try to chamber these rounds in any of your other guns?  Do you think the bulges were caused by trying to chamber the rounds in the Canik or were the cases already bulged?  Do you clean, resize and lube your cases prior to reloading?  Are these cases ones you have reloaded before or are they cases you may have picked up at the range? How many times have you reloaded these cases as some may be becoming weak.  Your new Canik may have tighter tolerances and you may have to adjust your resizer.

You'll probably need to reload some more rounds and check each step in your reloading process to determine just where, or why, these bulges are happening.  It's little challenges like this that make reloading fun. ;)

Offline redbaron