Author Topic: Recommend me a 147 gr bullet for my P07  (Read 642 times)

Offline FALer

Recommend me a 147 gr bullet for my P07
« on: July 27, 2019, 10:34:13 PM »
I bought 1000 of RMR 147 gr match winner's recently and the manufacturer recommends  1.13 to 1.15 COAL. Wel I loaded up some 124gr loads to 1.14 and they plunk and spin and fall out freely. So I figure I'll get some 147's and load them up to 1.13. I forgot to take Ogive into account.

Anyway's I'm new to this and learning.

What 147gr bullets do you folks use that can be seated deeper than 1.13 in your CZ's?

Offline Wobbly

• Loves the smell of VihtaVuori in the morning !
Re: Recommend me a 147 gr bullet for my P07
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2019, 12:08:16 AM »
I bought 1000 of RMR 147 gr match winner's recently and the manufacturer recommends 1.13 to 1.15 COAL. Well, I loaded up some 124gr loads to 1.14 and they plunk and spin and fall out freely. So I figure I'll get some 147's and load them up to 1.13. I forgot to take Ogive into account.

This is all explained in the Stickies. Have you taken the time to study those articles ?

The manufacturer recommends those at 1.130 to 1.150" in a Ruger or Glock, not a CZ. 147's in a CZ are a special case. If they strike the lands, then your only recourse is to seat deeper, but the 147 bullet is longer than a 124gr bullet and gets into trouble with the taper inside the case. For that reason we must tell you that not every bullet offered for sale can be used in the CZ. This is why we suggest you discuss your plans BEFORE you order. You may have 1000 bullets you can't use.

What 147gr bullets do you folks use that can be seated deeper than 1.13 in your CZ's?
You can't seat deeper without going to special brands of brass case.

The only 147gr bullet I'm aware of that has zero issues with the CZ chamber is the Berry Mfg 147gr RN. It can be taken out to 1.150" or so. That doesn't mean there aren't others.