Author Topic: Suppressor for my Scorpion  (Read 2415 times)

Offline M300Pilot

Suppressor for my Scorpion
« on: June 18, 2021, 11:21:01 AM »
As much as I enjoy geeking out about buying extra bits for my Scorpion,  I want to have some kind of back-up plan in case the law changes to avoid as much PIA in my life as possible. Yes, I may do the pew pews with chums (who live across State line) but the main intent of this purchase was a 'you are not taking my food nor will you harm my rescue greyhounds' firearm.

I was already thinking about a suppressor because I like to hear and (I hope home defense never happens) for the ears of doggos. Can anyone suggest a long enough suppressor that plays well with the Scorpion I can research?  Since I am a complete noob to SBR's, I could be totally off base and may need to keep thinking this through.

Offline John A.

Re: Suppressor for my Scorpion
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2021, 01:51:36 PM »
A silencer is registered with the government, the same as a short barreled rifle.

Buying a silencer (form 4) takes a long time due to the process of all the transfers by the time it gets to your hands. 

And it's entirely possible to make your own silencer on a form 1 application.  They don't USUALLY take as long to get your tax stamp approved either since there are no transfers of ownership between the manufacturer and dealer(s) and then to you.  If you have the ability to make one yourself and if you were so inclined.  I have been making my own for 20 years now.  While not terribly hard, there is a learning curve and while it's not magic voodoo, there are more ways to mess one up than make it right but that's where the research comes in.

The scorpion works very well suppressed.  And is much less damaging to your ears as well as anyone or anything else that may have the misfortune of being near you when it goes off.