Author Topic: need help with shopping list...  (Read 1796 times)

Offline burningsquirrels

• www.gpsl.org
need help with shopping list...
« on: June 19, 2008, 02:28:43 PM »
Okay so I'm a newb. I'm driven to reload because of the high cost of ammo, and because I've been having a lot of problems with the factory reloaded ammo I'm getting at the range. In the past three weeks, in order, 2 fat rounds that got stuck, 2 duds, 1 case-head failure and got sprayed in the face, caught 2 fat rounds before a major match, 1 dud at same match, 1 too short, and upon inspection, i picked up two bullets from the same 'too short' box and was able to press the bullet into the case. Well, crap!

So I'm looking at a progressive loader - most, if not all, of the guys I shoot with use progressives. The ones with more money buy Dillon 650s, the ones with less, Lee progressives. I am the latter, so I'm choosing Lee. I shoot usually 2-3 times a week, 1-2 of those with my fiance. I shoot USPSA major 40sw, she shoots minor 9mm.  In terms of 'bullet allowances', I shoot up to 400 rounds a week, she shoots up to 200. I was thinking about a turret, but I really don't want to sit down for hours at a time loading ammo. I'd like to be able to sit down on a monday or friday night, and spend 2-3 hours loading the week's worth of ammo for the two of us.

I've also gone over to a friend's house and checked out his Lee setup - pretty nice and close to what I want. He has a Lee-1000 - he uses it as a single stage to decap his rounds, then heads to his TV and hand primes the cases, and puts them in a bin for later. When he loads, he puts another turret on his 1000 and loads his ammo. I will want to perform all those operations on one machine so I can do it all in one sitting, since my week is usually pressed for time.