Author Topic: Cleaning a DW Revolver  (Read 2290 times)

Offline rdcinhou

• Coat of Arms for Uherský Brod
Cleaning a DW Revolver
« on: July 10, 2016, 07:48:39 PM »
Well I took the used DW 15-2 2V that I bought to the range today and fired it for the first time.

I made sure that it was properly gapped with the feeler gauge that came with it. 

Just a note that when I bought it the gap was much larger than the gauge, which I've since learned from finding and reading the documentation can be dangerous as lead slag can be ejected through larger gap openings.

I shot about two dozen .38 SPC rounds through it before trying .357 magnum.

My aim at 7 yards was okay as I'm still learning the sights on this gun.

The .357 rounds....wow! I think I woke up the surrounding neighborhood and maybe even registered on any seismometers in the area.

It wasn't too difficult to handle though and I did stay on target.

My surprise came when I went to eject the empty casings and FOUR (4) of them didn't want to come all of the way out!

I had to use a pocket knife to apply a little more leverage to get them out.

I shot another SIX (6) rounds with the same result.

Looking at the empty casings, I didn't see any unusual deformations between the ones that came out easily and the ones that didn't.

I decided that maybe it just needed a good cleaning and cut my session short.

Getting home, I did a little internet searching about .357 magnum casings getting stuck and found that this is a common problem if you shoot both .38 SPC and .357 MAG in the same session. According to some other forums (I didn't find anything here!), dirty .38 SPC ammo leaves a residue that at the higher pressure and temperature of the .357 MAG will form a hardened carbon ring that is a bit on the difficult side to remove.