Author Topic: 38 Special Bullet Advise  (Read 3347 times)

Offline Wobbly

• Administrator
  • Loves the smell of VihtaVuori in the morning !
Re: 38 Special Bullet Advise
« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2017, 11:18:36 PM »
One of the great things about 38 Spcl is that the optimal speed for a Wad Cutter is generally between 800 and 850fps. Some days you can walk to the target faster than the bullet can fly ! At these speeds, as long as a lead bullet fits the barrel properly, then there's going to be zero lead fouling.

So while jacketed bullets might be appreciated for your 357M loads or hot 38 Spcl, your target 38 Spcl loads can use the cheaper lead bullets.

;)
In God we trust; On 'Starting Load' we rely.

Offline andrew1220

Offline mrcabinet

« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2017, 10:51:43 AM »
I switched from lead to coated a couple of years ago and have been glad I did. My original supplier closed up shop, so I've been running Precision Bullets for about 8 months in 9, 38 and 45. Been very happy with them.
https://www.precisionbullets.com/store.html
I like the 125 gr. because I can load them low or ramp them up and they still maintain POI. I use Titegroup because I have a bunch of it.
No matter where you're going, there you are.

Offline nicky

« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2017, 06:41:43 PM »
? One note on your seating die... To put the DEWC in flush with the case mouth may require you to modify your seating anvil inside the Seating Die. Otherwise you may find it hard to seat the bullet 0.005" below flush to allow the roll crimp enough case mouth material to actually roll. If you find this to be the case, then contact me via PM and I can modify the die for you.

I forgot to thank you for the offer. It's much appreciated.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2017, 02:52:40 PM by Wobbly »

Offline Wobbly

• Administrator
« Reply #19 on: December 07, 2017, 09:46:03 AM »
I forgot to thank you for the offer. It's much appreciated.