Author Topic: Introduction and Questions  (Read 2706 times)

Offline FALex

Introduction and Questions
« on: January 30, 2018, 10:34:49 PM »
Hello everyone.  I found this forum as I have been suffering "analysis paralysis" with regards to one of my next purchases.  My research led me here...hopefully my final spot for information.

Anyhow, I am a lifelong shooter, precision/long range rifles (bolt and gas) being my bread and butter but I am also a firearms instructor for my department, thus pistols have quickly taken over a major portion of my life as well.

Not certain if I should post my question here or in a different area, but what the hell, I'll start at the beginning.  Basically, I am wanting a CZ pistol.  The primary uses for this pistol will be plain and simple target shooting, precision shooting, potential competitions, and some combat pistol drills (so, pretty much everything ;)

I like the looks of the SP-01 Tac and the Shadow 2 Tac.  Is it true that the Shadow 2 is basically a refined SP01?

I know there are some great companies out there, such as Cajun Gun Works, and CZ Custom, that do excellent work on these pistols, so I guess my next question is: isn't it substantially cheaper to just buy the SP01 and send it to one of these fine companies for the "works," or is the Shadow 2 going to be a better product than even the smiths could churn out?  I would assume that the Smiths would be putting out a better firearm just due to the fact that their sole focus is custom work, no mass production issues involved.  From my rudimentary math skills, it appears the Shadow 2 can be had for about 12-1300, but I can get the SP01 and send it to CGW for their "Pro Package" deal and be into the gun for a little less than 1000.00.