Author Topic: Army looking for new subgun  (Read 2704 times)

Offline John A.

Army looking for new subgun
« on: May 13, 2018, 08:48:50 AM »
post voluntarily deleted
« Last Edit: February 15, 2023, 10:24:39 PM by John A. »
I used to think politicians made stupid gun laws because they were stupid.  Now, I know they do it as ATTRITION.

Offline 3guneric

Re: Army looking for new subgun
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2018, 09:33:32 PM »
I may stir up a hornets nest here but: Current Scorp is a No-Go from a military field-maintenance point of view.

I don't think the Army would ever go with the Scorpion because of the current design of the FCG.  There are too many small parts that don't intuitively go together!  I was a combat arms officer back in the day (arms room officer as well) and I have done the HBI spring deal but what a mess and how would GI's, who are all thumbs, deal with that mess: while tired, in the dark, in the rain...

I like the Scorp, but to me a guy w/ former Army experience, who now primarily shoots, and totally trusts, civilian copies of military guns (AK,AR, FAL, M1911, M92, Sig P226) I just do not get the same confidence level from the Scorp.  (I can't explain why, but it just does not have a "military" feel about it - more like a Ruger 10-22)  If CZ reworked the inner workings of the trigger - to make it soldier proof - it might have a chance.    I would rather them update the MP 40.  I am old enough to have used a Grease gun in 1984 in Germany.  They were simply bullet sprayers but simple to work and maintain.  (Am not recommending these!)

I know that you may have fired thousands of rounds through your Scorp, or that some military forces have adopted them, however my main point is that in a prolonged "field" environment I would not want to be responsible for repairing, maintaining, and training soldiers on this platform.